Shots are well underway

First, I feel I should apologize for taking so long to update everyone on my treatment. I will provide a brief update here, and try to be more diligent going forward. Being active and productive on a daily basis takes a lot of effort.

So, here’s what I’m doing. Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, I give myself two shots of interferon medication. I am very fortunate to be able to give do the shots myself at home, instead of having to go to the treatment center three times a week. It means that I can take the shots later in the day versus early-afternoon (or during business hours). I have to admit, I was fearful at first – injecting myself. But God continues to be faithful. I’m settling into a routine.

The side effects from the shots can be pretty rough, so says my oncologist. When I first started, she didn’t expect that I would be able to complete the entire 48 weeks. She said that most people don’t. However, she assured me that every week I take the medicine, it’s a blessing. After my last appointment, she was surprised at how well I am handling the meds. If this is “good”, I feel for the people who really have trouble.

So, here’s the routine. Monday evening, I give myself shots. Tuesday, I am exhausted or achy or nauseous. Wednesday, I start feeling a little more like myself, just about the time for another shot. Then Thursday I feel bad and stronger on Friday. Shot on Friday night, with LOTS of sleep on Saturday. Sunday is a day for a very long nap to recover and start all over on Monday.

I take the shots between 6 and 6:30 pm, giving my body 12 full hours to process the medication and have whatever immediate reaction I am going to have. What I think happens during those 12 hours is that my fever spikes, bringing with it the chills, body aches, and then the sweats when the fever breaks. The one time I took the shot at the doctor’s office, I had a 103 fever by midnight. The other time that I took the shot later, 9 pm, I could hardly walk when it was time for work. THAT was a long, horrible day. Because of the fatigue, sleep does come easy. For that, I am grateful.

Fortunately, I have had only one day where I was nauseous – sick enough that I was unable to work. Most of the time, I am completely exhausted. When I don’t react with fatigue, then I am sore – body aches like when you have the flu.

Interferons can also cause depression. If/when I do feel depressed, I think it is more because I am completely and totally exhausted. Everything takes so much effort. Sometimes, if I think about how much longer I’ve got – 43 weeks, I get very discouraged. It’s not easy.

I’m trying hard to push through, letting the side effects disrupt my life as little as possible. I work with some really great people – who have been very encouraging and sympathetic. I don’t want to be Debby Downer, so I try to keep positive. I hate admitting the truth about how I feel. I have convinced myself that most people don’t want to hear it day after day.

As always, thanks for the continued prayers and encouragement. I am so very grateful that I don’t have to walk this path alone.

Comments on: "Shots are well underway" (4)

  1. Laura Wormald said:

    I walk with you in spirit every step of the way. You are truly an inspiration. I so wish I could ne doing more. Love the new blog!! Welcome to WordPress!!

  2. Kathy,
    We DO want to hear how you are feeling. It’s wonderful that you are choosing to have a positive attitude, but that doesn’t mean you have to pretend it isn’t hard and you don’t wish it was over. Your spirit and faith encourage us. Your transparency is what allows us to minister to you. It’s how we know how to pray for you. It’s how we can understand enough to offer some level of true empathy. Don’t be afraid to keep telling us whatever it is that you need us to know!
    We love you Kathy!
    Beth

  3. Gina Butterfield said:

    Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow….one day at a time, sweet Kathy. We don’t have what it takes for tomorrow because He gives us strength for today. Your positive attitude is inspiring and good for you, but Beth is right we can hear the bad stuff too ’cause we love you.
    Thanks for updating us.
    Love you, sister!

  4. Tammy Smith said:

    No matter what you’re days bring, let us know it! Everyone knows how MUCH you’ve listened to our bad/good times in the past. And would do so again in a New York minute even as bad as you are feeling! Be encouraged that God is good all the time. Even when we can’t see it. That’s when He gives us others to see it for us. There WILL be something good that comes out of this. It may be the encouragement that others get from seeing your positive attitude, your perservance, your faith in a God that the world says would never do this if He loved you, or the people who stand behind you thru this phase of life, or maybe just your plain ole’ stubbornness 🙂 I love you and your sweet family. Love you, Tammy
    Dear God, please be with Kathy, Andy, Hannah, and Nathan as they walk this walk together. Please give her your full measure of peace, extra strength, and complete healing. Lord, we know you are the creator of all things, and you are in control of all things. Thank you that you don’t leave that up to us “Type A’s”. Please keep Satan and all his evil workings from this family. Open Kathy’s eyes to see the ways that you are with her everyday, every breath, every second. It is because of this lady, Lord, that I grew closer to you in the early stages of my walk. She is a warrior for you Lord. Thank you that you use her to your glory every day. In Jesus’ name, AMEN.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

