The Journey Continues

This week has been rough, but God continues to remind me that He is always right there with me.

I switched from shots three times a week (6 shots) to shots two times a week (4 shots). My reaction to the shots on both Monday and Thursday evenings weren’t so good. Last night (Thursday) was so bad that I don’t really even remember what happened Monday.

Normally, I will get a little achy. My back will feel stiff, but usually a heating pad and a couple of Advil will do the trick. Last night, I felt brittle. I went to bed at 8, thinking I would get a super-good night’s sleep. Nope. I was up about every 60-90 minutes so incredibly sore that I couldn’t even lie still. So sore that I texted a friend at 2:30am asking for prayers.

I don’t know what’s going to happen with the treatments, but I can do no more than take this one day at a time.

I’m meeting a doctor this afternoon to talk about meds that can offset the anxiety and depression being caused by the shots. It’s depressing to have to take medicine so I can take the medicine that is supposed to save my life.

clip_image002

But anyway, it is what it is.

But there are good things. I got an email earlier this week, reminding me that a young man that I prayed for not too long ago prays for me daily, and by name.

When Matthew was two, the doctors found a malignant tumor on his bladder. He had to go through some long treatments. I remember how sick he was. I remember how he lost his hair. I remember how hard and diligently we all – even our children – prayed for Matthew.

Look at him now. God has healed his body. Thank you, Gina, for sending me this picture.

Matthew, when I see your smiling face (and I look at this picture often), God reminds me that there is an end to this cancer journey. Your smile makes me smile.

Thank you, Matthew, for praying for me by name. Thank you to all of my beautiful and faithful friends across the country who keep me covered in prayers and love when I just don’t have the strength to lift myself up.

Thank you, God, for always being with me.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

