A Good Piece of Advice

If you have been following the last few posts, or if you have seen me recently, you should have a good idea of just how insane I have felt. I sat in church Sunday, hugging myself and rocking back and forth, willing the time to pass more quickly so I could go home and go back to sleep. Literally, I don’t know when my anxiety level has been higher – at least on a physical sense. Now, hold that thought for a little background info.

I have a friend who has gotten a small handgun that she now carries with her. She has told me on several occasions how much stress relief she gets when she goes to the shooting range. Also, Nathan and his friend, Sean, have become obsessed with Call of Duty, Battlefield, and other crazy Xbox games that involve lots of guns. Sorry if you think that makes me a terrible mom.

Over the last several months, I have been thinking that I might like to carry a small handgun so I could learn how to shoot and have another option for relieving some stress. STRESS RELIEF – that is all.

Now, flip back to the last couple of weeks. My children have been living with a crazy woman! One who is high strung, irritable, depressed, running the gamut of emotions.

So, Nathan comes into the room where I was watching television, sits next to me, and says: “Mom, I don’t think it’s a good idea for you to get a gun right now. You’re a little too high strung.” Seriously? This kid thinks that I, in my current mental state, might be a bit dangerous with a gun???

No biggie, he and I decided we would go outside with his AirSoft guns and shoot at some coke cans.

I’m glad he cares so much.

Comments on: "A Good Piece of Advice" (5)

  1. Gina Butterfield said:

    I’m with Nathan on this one!

  2. you make me laugh…”from the mouth of babes”. I wish I could be there on that couch hugging and rocking with you. All I know to say is I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Linda Consiglio said:

    Kathy –
    I’m with Nathan – his gun sounds a lot safer and the time together will benefit both of you.

    Wishing I could take away your troubles and pain…what I can do is pray for you, which I am continuing to do. Take day by day, minute by minute and know that God is holding you.

    Loving your sweet spirit and honest thoughts,
    Linda

  4. Kelly Baker said:

    Thanks for the chuckle..good for Nathan!:) xoxo

  5. Tammy Smith said:

    Just don’t shoot him in the “safety zone.” Jamie has never let me forget it! Well… she only had half of her foot in it! I love you and your honesty! Tammy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

