God’s voice is glorious

It’s a good thing I like roller coasters, because I feel like I am on one. After my doctor’s appointment, I have been feeling more positive, my nerves are calming, my anxiety is going away. Good, right? It is good that my depression and anxiety are getting straightened out, but now a different kind of yuk is attacking.

Last night was shot night. I gave them to myself at 6:30, definitely within the ideal timeframe. I went to bed at 10:30pm (yes, probably a little late for a shot night). At 1 am, I was wide awake and my back felt brittle. I was up again at 3, 5, and 7. By 7am, I was nauseous. I still am. And I’ve gotta work.

As I am driving to work, it is pouring rain, with lots of thunder and lightning. I’m feeling good and sorry for myself. “God, we just worked out the depression; can’t I have a break?”

His reply – “I gave you a thunderstorm. Focus on that.” Wow. In my opinion, thunder and rain are two of the most peaceful sounds God created, second only to being outside at night after it has snowed. So, God knew I was going to feel bad and He prepared a gift for me.

As if that wasn’t enough, he reminded me of a verse – “God’s voice is glorious in the thunder. We can’t even imagine the greatness of His power.” Job 37:5, NLT – Our God is an AWESOME God.

And before I got out of the car, this is the verse I heard:

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.  For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18.

We might not see our troubles as “light and momentary”, but God does.

Comments on: "God’s voice is glorious" (2)

  1. Donna Root said:

    Whew, Kathy! What a post! I couldn’t help but shed tears as I read it. You are definitely an inspiration to me. Thank you for sharing your 100 blog posts with us.

  2. wow – growing growing growing. Love you, Joyce

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

