The Voice of my Soul

While it may come as a shock to some (not really), I really enjoy music. I enjoy praising my heavenly Father in song – not just through my voice, but with my whole body, my spirit. Expressing love and adoration to the Father through music is a tremendous gift given to us, and one we can easily give back to Him. I’ve taught Hannah that music is the voice of our soul. It is definitely a gift.

Unfortunately, during the cancer treatments, I have not been able to express myself with as much joy as I would like. Sunday mornings are hard. I’ve had shots the previous night, and I am exhausted. Standing up to worship – really fully completely throw myself into worship – is difficult. And it hasn’t helped with the depression. When I am worshiping in song, I want to give God my everything! But right now, “my everything” isn’t very much.

I know God understands, loves me, and accepts every piece of myself I can give. I know He is glad to see me there with my brothers and sisters; and I know it brings him joy when I praise Him – even if it is only with my voice. While my heart is still in it, my body doesn’t have much to offer.

Last week, my heart was yearning to worship God in song, and in complete and total abandon. So, I started asking God to give me the physical strength to worship. Boy did he deliver. And as I gave to Him, He gave back to me through the lyrics of each and every song we sang.

Please indulge me as I share some of the lyrics and the messages that God gave back to me. For space and time, I’m not including all the lyrics of each song – just my gifts.

I sing because you are good; I dance because you are good; I shout because you are good. You are good to me.  

God: Then do it. I am good to you. Worship me with total abandon.

Your goodness knows bounds; Your goodness never stops. And in my darkest night You shine as bright as day. Your love amazes me. You are good to me.

God: I will never leave you – promise.

Find rest my soul in Christ alone. Know His power in quietness and trust. When the oceans rise and thunders roar, I will soar with You above the storm. Father you are king over the flood (and cancer too).  I will be still and know you are God.

God: I’ve got this. I’ve got everything. Trust me. I’ve demonstrated, and will continue to do so, that I am King over it ALL.

Faithfulness none can deny through the storm and through the fire there is truth that sets me free Jesus Christ who lives in me.

God: I’m going to keep proving it to you.  Even through the storm – no matter what it is – I am with you.

Giver of every breath I breathe, Author of all eternity, Giver of every perfect thing, to you be the glory. And I am alive because I’m alive in You.

God: I have a plan. I am directing your life. Don’t forget. Share what I have done, and am doing in your life.

Every sunrise sings your praise. The universe cries out Your praise. I’m singing freedom all my days, now that I’m alive.

God: I want you to see me everywhere you look.

My heart and my soul, I give you control. Consume me from the inside out Lord.  Your will above all else, my purpose remains. The art of losing myself in bringing your praise.

God: Give me all of you. I have grand plans – through the cancer and after.

How often we forget or lose sight of the presence of God. He has promised he would never leave us nor forsake us – NO MATTER WHAT. In just my own life, I have so many evidences of that promise. And I have seen it in the lives of my friends and family. Let us hold tightly to the promises of God and live our lives accordingly.

Before I go, I want to say thank you to someone very special, a friend God brought into my life a little over two years ago – Lee Sisney, our worship leader. From the first time we visited First Baptist, it was evident that Lee’s primary goal is to bring glory to our Heavenly Father. There are definitely worship leaders who make it more about themselves than God, but not Lee. He encourages us week after week to bring our best to God.

Lee, forgive me if I’ve embarrassed you, but God really used you last Sunday. I know He does every week, but last week even more so. Thank you for leadership and example. I am honored to worship with you.

Keeping the faith

Comments on: "The Voice of my Soul" (3)

  1. Thank you for sharing these tender moments from your heart and spirit.
    Love you, girl!

  2. You are making an amazing testimony, and for that the Father SINGS praises over you!! Love you Girl!!

  3. Kelly Baker said:

    You have so many gifts, Kathy!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

