Me? A Runner?

Today marks the one-year anniversary of my completing my first 5K. What an amazing day that was! I didn’t set any speed records, but I finished. I trained, I ran, I walked, and I talked to myself the entire time, reminding myself that hard work pays off.

Back then, I was running/walking 2.5 miles a day. I was (and still am) so very proud of myself. I had never considered myself much of a physical, athletic person. But that day, April 2, 2011, I became a runner.

Not too long after that Saturday, I found the tumor and started a different journey. I’ll share more about that later this week.

My mom has taught me my entire life that I could do anything I put my mind to. I’ve demonstrated that in a lot of different ways. Unfortunately for me, I really didn’t think that applied to being an athlete (maybe that’s too strong of a word, but it makes me feel good.) But as the picture proves, I DID IT!!  208383_1670221082383_1443035228_31330141_5922392_n

So what does that have to do with my being reinvented? Well, I have gained some weight back during these last several months. Of course I have. Everyone else in the entire cancer world loses weight when they go through their treatments. Me? I’m just losing my hair.

The one thing that I can eat that would relieve some of the nausea was bagels, or any other carbs that are dense. I guess it soaks up the acid in my system. Who knows; I just know it works. This has definitely caused a setback on the Weight Watcher front – a TEMPORARY setback.

The other thing is that the treatments have zapped me of just about all of my energy. So, I can’t really exercise with any intensity or consistency. Besides zero energy, the doctor told me to take it easy until I am finished with the treatments. In another place and time, I would have let these facts bring me way down. But now, after nine months down this road, I remind myself of what I have accomplished in the past.

I completed a 5K. If I have done it once, I can do it again. I am hopeful I can do Rock The Parkway - 3 another one before the end of this year. No matter when, I’m certain I will do it again. Then, on to the 10K. And who knows beyond that. I’ll start slowly, just walking around the parking lot – just like I did when I started the weight loss thing. And I will gradually extend my walking, adding a little jogging, until I am ready to run another race.

My ultimate physical goal is to run a marathon. It scares me to even mention it, but I am a strong woman, who is pretty convinced that I can do anything I put my mind to. We’ll see where God takes me.

I can’t wait to get started again. Here’s to seeing you at the finish line.

Comments on: "Me? A Runner?" (4)

  1. You did; you can; you will.

  2. You can do it Kathy!! You know how I know? Because God’s Word says Kathy can do all things through Christ who gives her strength!! I am rooting & praying for you!

  3. i remember being there at that race, walking beside you and at the end you said, i even ran!! i was so proud of you and still am for running this race , the one the Lord has put before you!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

