I have been trying to be patient, not wishing my life away, not counting the treatments, weeks, shots, etc. But I am failing miserably at that. I have been counting down the remaining time probably since week 1.

May 13 was my surgery. Followed by 4 weeks of daily infusions. A small break, and then the shots. Fortunately, I am able to give myself the shots. That saves me a lot of time, and a lot of money.

So, last night, another treatment. I ONLY HAVE 7 LEFT!! (if you’re counting…) Maybe when I get to my last one, Hannah might look at me when I inject the meds. That girl has quite an aversion of needles.

Thank you to everyone who continues to send emails, cards, texts, everything. I am so blessed to be surrounded by such a cloud of believers, who continue to pray for me daily, especially when I don’t have the energy to do it myself.

My last shot is June 30. Independence Day 2012 will hold so many different meanings for my family. (Yes Tommy Tarter, we will be celebrating your birthday as well.)

My family at Antioch, the prayer blanket has been a tremendous blessing. Early in the game, I was feeling very, VERY bad. Nathan brought the blanket up to me where I was lying down. He covered me with it and reminded me that I am covered in prayer every day by people who love me. Since that night, I have always slept covered in prayer. Thank you, Gina, for thinking of me. Thank you, my family, for loving me.

Before I go, I have a prayer request and an invitation…

First, the prayer. My reactions to the last several shots have been brutal. Almost like it was in the beginning. I think I may have been a little prideful about being one of the few people to have completed these shots, and God is gently (HA!) reminding me that I’m not the one steering this boat. I am not the one getting myself from day to day. It is God’s strength and provision. However, if you would lift me up and ask God to ease my pain and sickness, it would be appreciated. Even if He doesn’t, it’s okay. He’s God, and He knows what is best.

(If you are one of those people who doesn’t believe that God may be using this to teach me something, just let it go. I am going to continue to take everything as a blessing or lesson. I believe with all that I am that He is THAT involved in my life.)

Now, for an invitation – if you are in the Blue Springs area on Sunday, July 15, would you consider joining me, my family, and friends, as we celebrate what God has done and continues to do in my life. We will be having lunch at First Baptist Church, Blue Springs, starting sometime between 12:30 and 1pm. It will be a time for me to say thank you to so many who have walked with me. And, a time for me to thank God for His healing.

This would have been an impossible journey without Him, and without all of you.

Comments on: "Let’s face it, I AM counting down" (1)

  1. Sheila Prebula said:

    I pray for you daily! If I am able, I would like to come up for lunch on that day. Where is Andy’s mom now?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

