How I am feeling

So, it’s been two weeks since my very last treatment. Did you catch that? LAST. It’s over. I don’t have to take anymore. My evening doesn’t revolve around making sure I am home between 6 and 6:30 so I can take the shots at the most opportune time.

The most common question is how am I feeling? I feel AMAZING!!!!!!!!

I think the emotional high carried me for a couple of days. I left the doctor’s office without even asking about coming off the meds, how I would feel, and how long it would take before I could feel more “normal”. At that point, I didn’t care. All I knew was that I could stop putting that poison into my system.

Mentally, I feel more like myself. I can reason. I feel more initiative. I can plan. I can think. I can recall things. AND, I can stay focused for increasingly long amounts of time. I’ve started setting some goals and identifying some projects I want to work on. I am also thinking about volunteering at the cancer center. I feel so different emotionally – grateful, compassionate, and looking for opportunities to share. I have no idea what God has in store, but I’m looking forward to heading down that road.

Physically, I am still tired, but it’s not all day, every day. I don’t have to stop and rest when I walk from my car to the door at WalMart. I don’t have to take a nap as soon as I get home from work. Nor do I sit and watch tv from dinner to bedtime because I have no energy to do anything else.

Once the temperature gets below 90, I am going to start walking again during lunch. I am, however, going to take it easy returning to my former, active self. (Besides, my doctor hasn’t given me the “all systems go” yet; but that’s coming.”)

Thursday, I have my PET scan at 10 am. The next Thursday, 7/11, I will meet with the doctor to get my results. I completely expect everything is going to come back clear. While that be the case, I must admit that if I allow myself to go there, I am terrified about how I will react if the news isn’t good. But you know what; I am deciding not to go there. I’m just going to hang on to what I know to be true and real. God’s got this. Whatever happens is to His glory. We’ll deal with it – whatever, whenever. NO WORRYING!

I also have a couple of meds that I need to get off of, but those are going to require a doctor’s guidance and watchful eye. That’s the depression and anxiety stuff. One thing at a time. Good days are ahead.

Before I go, I would like to ask you to pray for Joey. I don’t know him, but he is a dear friend of some friends of mine. He is battling cancer and having a hard time. Joey has touched many, many people in his young life. Please pray for his family and friends that are walking alongside him.

God is so good. My prayer for you is that He opens your eyes and allows you to see how much He is working in your life. This last year has taught me that even when times are bad, if God has decided to use my life and circumstances for His glory, then it’s a good thing.

Gratefully keeping the faith. Much love to you all.

Comments on: "How I am feeling" (1)

  1. Kelly baker said:

    Wow..so happy for you! We will pray that all goes well with the PET scan..why do they call it that? Happy INDEPENDENCE day to you, sweet friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

