The Results are In

My dear, sweet friends. It has been a good couple of weeks since I have last written you. I have had a PET scan, a party to celebrate God’s healing, and have begun what, so far, is looking to rank close to the top in terms of difficulty. Before I start, thought, I want to thank each of you for your never ending gifts of prayer and encouragement.

Two weeks ago, I had what I understood to be my last scan for the next 12 months – if all came back as it should. I had complete faith that my scan would come back clean and thought I could put this whole thing behind me. I guess that’s what comes from not asking questions ahead of time.

I went to the doctor last Thursday to discuss the results of my scan. Now, before I tell you what happened, you have to remember that my doctor is from Russia. She has a strong Russian accent, so sometimes understanding requires extra effort. Dr. Elia comes into the office (file in hand), sits down and says “your skin looks good.” I look down at my arms and say “thanks, I guess.” Realizing what I thought she said, she said it again, but this time with a very strong enunciation of one letter – “Your scAAn looks good.” Me – “OH, good.” Doctor – “But your skin looks good too.” We had a good laugh. Dr. Elia is a jewel.

She went on to say that I would need a CT scan in two months, and another PET scan three months after that. I don’t know what was going on in my head, but that little addition at the end wiped out the joy of my good news. More scans? I thought that I was done with this, at least for a year? Is it ever going to end?

I don’t know what the rest of my life looks like, but these follow up tests (I have since learned) are normal. I didn’t mean to sound so ungrateful about my wonderful news. It was that I am so ready for this journey to be OVER.

I continue to keep my focus on my Heavenly Father and remain very grateful for his provisions, peace, and guidance.

Now to the fun stuff. This past Sunday, my Life Group at church through me a celebration party. Silly me, I thought no one would show up. But they had to get out more tables. What a rush. My parents came up from Nashville, and a special friend came up from Sedalia. I am so loved. You know how the Bible says that we are surrounded by a cloud of witnesses? Well, I have been surrounded by a crowd of believers. It was a blessing to see a small part of that visually.

I was able to tell my story about how God brought me to this place and is seeing me through it. It is a story of God’s faithfulness. He means what He says. He promised he would never leave us – and He WON’T. One of my favorite images in scripture is in Isaiah when God says, “I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Uphold – one definition is to prevent from falling or sinking, support. I like to think of God holding my tightly, full of love.

His promises, my belief. “Don’t be afraid, just believe.” – Mark 5:36

ps – Tomorrow, I’ll update you on the tough couple of weeks I face. It’s not bad, just difficult. For now, would you just continue praying for me?

Comments on: "The Results are In" (1)

  1. Kelly Baker said:

    Yes, Mam!!! We are happy to continue to pray for you…it’s a given…saw Hannah’s name on the camper list!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

